Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

How do I Inactivate a Description?

StepsReference
Load the concept in the edit panel whose description you want to inactivate. Note the Toggle Active/Inactive "power switch" style icon buttons to the left of each description row. Active descriptions are visible with their green "active" icons (inactive descriptions are initially hidden by default - a later step shows how to view them).

Press Toggle Active/Inactive for the description that you wish to inactivate.

A Select Reason For Inactivating Description pop-up box is presented. This is a modal dialogue which must be completed or closed to continue editing. The box contains a set of radio button options to choose the inactivation reason. For International authoring the options are:

  • Not semantically equivalent
  • Outdated component
  • Erroneous component
  • Non-conformance to editorial policy


Reason "Not semantically equivalent" requires completion of the REFERS TO concept association reference set entry. The target concept field has the same type-ahead search support as relationship target fields in the edit panel - start typing a word stem and the corresponding concepts will be presented for selection in a drop-down list. The field can also be populated by cut and paste (typically used when the target concept SCTID is available for cut and paste).


Once the association reference set target is set, the Continue with Description Inactivation button (lower right corner of the pop-up box) becomes active (green). Press it to continue the inactivation process, or if desired, use the Cancel Description Inactivation button (lower left corner of the pop-up box) to close the Select Reason for Inactivating Description pop-up box without making any changes (the underlying edit panel will become active again). The small X icon button in the upper right corner of the pop-up box also cancels the inactivation with no changes and restores the underlying edit panel.

For inactivation reasons other than "Not Semantically Equivalent", there is no need to specify any additional information, so the Association Type field setting is not presented. Simply press the Continue with Inactivation button or the Cancel Description Inactivation button as needed.

After pressing Continue with Inactivation button the pop-box will close and a header notification indicates that the concept is being saved - during this process the edit panel will remain inactive ("greyed out"). A second notification indicates when the concept changes are saved, and the edit panel becomes active and ready to make further changes as needed.

To see the inactivated description (for instance to confirm/review the changes), press the Show/hide inactive components button in the concept header. The edit panel will refresh and display all inactive components as well as the active components (inactive descriptions are listed together below the active descriptions).

To view the inactivation details for an inactive description, press the More details button (ellipsis icon) at the left-hand side of the inactive description row. The additional information pop-up includes the Inactivation Reason, and association target if the reason is "Not semantically equivalent". Note the "pencil" icon button next to the Inactivation Reason. Pressing this opens the Select Reason For Inactivating Description pop-up which can then be updated folowing exactly the same steps as for initial inactivation, to support updating an inactivation reason if needed.

 

How do I Inactivate a Relationship?

StepsReference
On a relationship the button will inactivate the relationship.

How do I inactivate a Concept?

StepsReference

On a description the button will trigger the Select Reason For Inactivating Description dialog. The dialog will also display three additional tabs: Children, Descendants, and All Incoming For informational purposes.

All three fields: inactivation reason, association type, and concept are required. Once filled in select the Continue With Concept Inactivation button


The Inactivation pane will appear with three tabs Children Affected, Attributes Affected, and Historical Associations Affected. Each of these tabs will present the affected Children, Attributes, and Historical Associations with a proposed new modelling. 

All concepts have to be Accepted before continuing with Inactivation.

To accept a Concept as proposed select the Approve to approve it. Note: if a concept is approved in error selecting the Unapprove button will revert the approval. To accept a batch of concepts simply select the Accept All button.

Note: concepts on all tabs must be accepted in order to continue.

 

 

 

 

To view a concept selecting the  Edit button will load the concept as the modelling is proposed.

Once all Concepts have been approved select the Complete Inactivation button to finalize the inactivation.

The UI will indicate that it is “Saving modified components and historical associations... “ Once complete the ui will refresh and load the concept in its current inactive state. 

  • No labels